Board Of Directors



Nikos Sofianos

Nikos Sofianos is a SME businessman, active in the sectors of tourism (Hotel LETO on the island of Hydra), construction materials (Sofianos Floors), real estate (Nasia Real Estate Development Romania) and parking (Zalokosta Parking). He graduated from the London School of Economics and Political Science - LSE (M.Sc. in European Studies), Deree College (B.Sc. in Marketing Management), the Hellenic Conservatory (Diploma in Cello Performance) and the Athens College high school. He completed his military service in the Hellenic Airforce. Nikos has been in public life since his schoolyears, as he was elected Vice President of the Athens College student council, Vice President of the Deree College student union, Vice President of the association of foreign investors in Romania, BoD member of the International Chamber of Commerce (Greece), Bod member of the Athens Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), as well as member of the ACCI Executive Committee (Treasurer 2006-2011 and Secretary General 2011 - now). Nikos’ experience in public administration issues comes from his service as BoD member of the National Health System (EOPYY), Invest In Greece and the Corinth Canal company. He was recently elected President of the Hellenic Alumni Association of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and member of the Political Committee of Nea Dimokratia party. Nikos is father to three children.

Vice President & Treasurer

Theodoros Kalampokis

Theodore is an Athens College graduate. He graduated from Athens University of Economics and Business with a BA degree in Economics and politics and from Stavrakos Film and Television School with a BA degree in Film Making. He holds an MSc in Philosophy of Science from LSE and an MPA in public policy and management. He had been the President of the LSE Hellenic Society from 2012-2015. During his presidency the Hellenic Society won an LSE Stars award for the first time in its history. He currently works as a Business Consultant at Aqurance S.A. and he is the Vice President of the Board of HAALSE since April 2016.

General secretary

Eleni Doundoulaki

Eleni Doundoulaki is a theatrologist and Cultural Policy and Management Consultant. Today, she is a Consultant on Artistic Fields at the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation. Since 2004 she has collaborated with various state and private cultural organizations. From 2010 to 2014 she has been the Artistic Director of the Municipal and Regional Theatre of Central Greece (Roumeli). She regularly participates in Greek and international cultural fora. From 2006 to 2014 she served Local Government in the Municipalities of Psychiko and Filothei-Psychico as elected Municipal Councilor, appointed Councilor for Cultural Affairs and Vice-Mayor. She is a PhD candidate in the University of Athens and holds a BA in Theatre Studies from the University of Athens (distinction), an MA in Cultural Policy and Administration from the University of Warwick and an MSc in Culture and Society from the LSE(merit).


Alexandros Karydis

Alexandros is a Lawyer (Athens Bar Association), certified Mediator and member of the Association of Greek Commercialists. He is currently working in the Legal Services of the Hellenic Petroleum Group. He graduated from Arsakeion School of Psychikon, studied at the Athens Law School and worked at Brussels and London. Alexandros holds a Masters of Laws degree (LLM) with specialisation in Corporate and Commercial Law from the LSE, during which he served as a member of the LSE SU Hellenic Society BoD and a Pro Bono Manager of the LSE LLM Committee. We is elected for a second term as a HAALSE BoD member. Alexandros currently serves as the Legal Consultant and the Expansion Officer of the BoD, responsible for the further development of our Alumni Association in Greece and abroad.


Athanassios (Thanos) Zois

Athanassios (Thanos) Zois is Vice President at EFG International. He has significant experience in Banking and Wealth Management. In the past, he had Senior appointments in Alpha Bank, Credit Agricole Group and National Bank of Greece Group. He holds an MSc Accounting & Finance from LSE (2006) and a BA in Economics from University of Athens (2004). He is a member of the Board of HAALSE since 2014 and served as Coordinator of the Think Tank (2014 – 2016).


Thanos Balasopoulos

Thanos was born in Athens in 1989. He graduated from University of Athens with a BA degree in Economics and from the London School of Economics and Political Science with an MSc degree on Health Policy & Health Economics. He has worked on projects regarding the health sector and has been research fellow at the Hellenic Parliament. At present, he works as a Health Economist Researcher at the National School of Public Health, in Athens. In 2016 he was elected to the Board of Directors in the Hellenic Alumni Association of the LSE(HAALSE). He is also a founding member of the HAALSE Health Policy Think Tank.


Dr. Haris Lampropoulos

Born in 1962; he is married to Joanna Makri (M.Sc. OR LSE, 1986) having two children; Fotini and Nicholas. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the London School of Economics & Political Science (Ph.D. econ. LSE, 1990). Since 1993 he is elected faculty member (Assistant Professor with tenure in the field of Human Resource Economics) at the University of Patras. He is Counsellor elected (member of the Board of Directors) of the Athens Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI) since 2006. He is President of the Institute of the Union of Hellenic Chambers and the respective Centre of the ACCI, Chief Counsel, Mentor and Coach of the Athens Start-up Business Incubator (THEA) and Secretary General of the Pharmaceutical Forum of ACCI (EPhForT). He has served as top executive, member of the Board of Directors and advisor in various companies, funds, organisations and foundations in the private and the public sector in Greece and abroad and Adviser to the Ministers of -Health & Social Solidarity, -Tourism Development and -Education. Ηe has participated in official missions abroad as well as in various committees on a national, European, and international level; acted as Principal Consultant of the World Bank; recipient of various distinctions and scholarships, and active in public affairs.

Audit Committee

The current Audit committee 2014 2016 consists of:

  1. Michalis Peglis
  2. Angelos Antonaropoulos
  3. Vassia Groumpou